Thursday, December 17, 2009

Senate Banking Committee Approves Bernanke Nomination

The Senate Banking Committee voted today to approve the nomination of Ben S. Bernanke for a second four-year term as chairman of the Federal Reserve.

But there were dissenters.

Senator Richard Shelby of Alabama, the committee’s ranking Republican, voted against Bernanke's re-nomination, as did Oregon Democrat, Senator Jeff Merkley, Senator Jim Bunning, Republican of Kentucky, Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont. Other voting no were Crapo, DeMint, Vitter and Hutchison.

The Aye votes were from Dodd, Johnson, Reed, Schumer, Bayh, Menendez, Akaka, Brown, Tester, Kohl, Warner, Bennet (CO), Bennett (UT), Corker, Johanns, Gregg.

The final vote: 16-7.

When the Senate Banking Committee took a voice vote on Bernanke’s first nomination as Fed chairman, only one senator opposed, Senator Bunning.

It appears he has the votes in the full Senate to be re-nominated, although things could get interesting as some Senators, including Bunning and Sanders, have said they will attempt to put a "block' on the vote.

No comments:

Post a Comment