Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Prez Speaks to Crony America Tonight

Tonight, the President will speak at a dinner held by the Business Council, being held in Washington the Park Hyatt Hotel.

The Business Council was created during the Great Depression by the then-Secretary of Commerce Daniel C. Roper. Roper selected about 50 executives as members. The Council's first major role was to form the Industrial Advisory Board for the National Recovery Administration, to advise and assist in resolving "pressing problems" of the nation's recovery from the Great Depression. In other words, it advised on structuring top down regulations that benefited big business. Simultaneously, the Council established a number of committees to address such issues as the Securities and Exchange Act, the Banking Act and the Social Security Act. Crony, crony crony.

Today, the Council limits itself to 150 Active members. There are currently 136 members. Below is a list of the Executive Committee.

Business Council Executive Committee: 2013-2014


Andrew N. Liveris, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, The Dow Chemical Company

Vice Chairmen:

Ursula M. Burns, Chairman & CEO, Xerox Corporation
Richard K. Davis, Chairman, President & CEO, U.S. Bancorp
Henry R. Kravis, Co-Chairman & Co-CEO, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co.
Douglas R. Oberhelman, Chairman & CEO, Caterpillar Inc.


Jeffrey L. Bewkes, Chairman & CEO, Time Warner Inc.
Jeffrey P. Bezos, Founder & CEO,
Louis R. Chenevert, Chairman & CEO, United Technologies Corporation
James Dimon, Chairman & CEO, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Ellen J. Kullman, Chair of the Board & CEO, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company
Gregory R. Page, Chairman & CEO, Cargill, Incorporated
Nancy C. Southern, President & CEO, ATCO Ltd. & Canadian Utilities Ltd.
Randall L. Stephenson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, AT&T Inc.
Peter R. Voser, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Dutch Shell plc
John S. Watson, Chairman & CEO, Chevron Corporation

Executive Director:

Philip E. Cassidy

Other members include:

Daniel F. Akerson
Chairman & CEO
General Motors Company

George Barrett
Chairman & CEO
Cardinal Health

Riley P. Bechtel
Chairman & CEO
Bechtel Group, Inc.

Robert H. Benmosche
President & CEO
American International Group, Inc.

Jeffrey L. Bewkes
Chairman & CEO
Time Warner Inc.

Lloyd C. Blankfein
Chairman & CEO
The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Wesley G. Bush
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Kenneth Chenault
Chairman & CEO
American Express Company

Robert Dudley
Group Chief Executive
BP p.l.c.

Laurence D. Fink
Chairman & CEO
BlackRock, Inc.

Donald E. Graham
Chairman and CEO
The Washington Post Company

Jeffrey R. Immelt
Chairman & CEO
General Electric Company

W.James McNerney, Jr.
Chairman, President & CEO
The Boeing Company

K. Rupert Murdoch
Chairman & CEO
News Corporation

Rex W. Tillerson
Chairman & CEO
Exxon Mobil Corporation

Patricia A. Woertz
Chairman, CEO & President
Archer Daniels Midland Company

No comments:

Post a Comment