Saturday, April 27, 2013

Online Sales Tax Legislation Could Crash in House of Representatives

The Hill reports:
Supporters of a bill that would broaden states’ ability to collect sales tax on online purchases acknowledge they face a tough battle in the House.

The measure, called the Marketplace Fairness Act, appears on a glide path toward passage in the Senate, with a final vote likely in early May.

But while Democratic leaders in the Senate supported the bill enough to bypass the Finance Committee and bring it straight to the floor, the GOP brass in the House has so far shown little interest in the measure.

The issue has received such scant attention in the lower chamber that neither Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) nor Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.) has taken public positions on it.[...]

The Marketplace Fairness Act, for which retail groups and state government organizations have lobbied extensively, would allow states to collect sales tax revenue from Internet retailers throughout the country.

A 1992 Supreme Court decision currently bars states from collecting from businesses that don’t have a physical location within their borders.

Groups like the National Governors Association have said that states could badly use the roughly $23 billion in lost revenue they’re currently missing out on[...]

In the Senate the sponsor and co-sponsors of the bill were:


Michael B. 'Mike' Enzi (WY - R)


Lamar Alexander (TN - R)
Roy Blunt (MO - R)
John N. Boozman (AR - R)
Benjamin L. 'Ben' Cardin (MD - D)
Thomas Richard 'Tom' Carper (DE - D)
Susan M. Collins (ME - R)
Robert 'Bob' Corker (TN - R)
William 'Mo' Cowan (MA - D)
Richard J. 'Dick' Durbin (IL - D)
Dianne Feinstein (CA - D)
Al Franken (MN - D)
Lindsey O. Graham (SC - R)
Thomas 'Tom' Harkin (IA - D)
Heidi Heitkamp (ND - D)
Mazie K. Hirono (HI - D)
Timothy Peter 'Tim' Johnson (SD - D)
Angus S. King Jr. (ME - I)
Amy Klobuchar (MN - D)
Mary L. Landrieu (LA - D)
Carl Levin (MI - D)
Joe Manchin III (WV - D)
Christopher S. 'Chris' Murphy (CT - D)
Mark Lunsford Pryor (AR - D)
John Francis 'Jack' Reed (RI - D)
John D. 'Jay' Rockefeller IV (WV - D)
Mark E. Udall (CO - D)
Mark R. Warner (VA - D)
Elizabeth A. Warren (MA - D)
Sheldon Whitehouse (RI - D)

1 comment:

  1. Interesting name - "Marketplace Fairness Act".

    I guess they can't call it something that more accurately reflects its real purpose, like the "Screw The Consumer Act", or "There's a Sucker Born Every Minute Act, or how about, "Fairness Hell, Lets Fuck Em Act"...